Halal is the dietary law implemented in the Muslim faith of Islam. You see this word Halal or it’s symbol/logo in some food products you buy from your favorite supermarket or grocery.
For a food item to be Halal, it has to go through a strict process of quality control, making sure it is not “contaminated” with other elements deemed ‘Haram’ (meaning non-permissible). Haram foods that are forbidden in the Muslim faith are pork, some seafood items, and alcohol. So if Halal food products touched, prepared with, or cooked with pork fat, alcohol, or even some seafood items fails the process.
It is also important to know where and how meat and poultry products are prepared. Only authorized Halal butchers can prepare meat items that will be considered for this process. Look for the Halal seal of quality for those who want to make sure they’re getting what they’re looking for.
For more information about Halal, click here.